New Workplace Mental Health Awards Programme

HeadFit, in association with the Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand, are proud to announce the launch of the HeadFit Awards.

HeadFit Awards is New Zealand’s first national workplace mental health awards programme. It was established to celebrate individuals, teams and workplaces who are leading in workplace mental health. The programme has three primary goals

  • To raise awareness of the role workplaces play in supporting positive mental health for staff
  • To showcase the work of winners and finalists to inspire and support other workplaces
  • To support the mental health foundation as they work to improve mental health for all New Zealanders

“The workplace isn’t the final frontier for better mental health, it is the first frontier. We all have a role to play. The HeadFit Awards are here to recognise Kiwi trailblazers and share their insights with other workplaces,” said awards convenor Grant Pritchard.

The HeadFit Awards 2021 are proudly sponsored by Principal Sponsor WorkSafe, and sponsors AIAEmber InnovationsMinistry of HealthRussell McVeaghSpark, Woo Wellbeing and Xero.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Phil Parkes commented “We are thrilled to be supporting this important national event. Mental health in the workplace is incredibly important. WorkSafe is delighted to be supporting this important event which will recognise good initiatives.

“The awards also provide an opportunity for businesses to use insights and best-practice examples from the winners and finalists to accelerate the pace of positive change in workplace mental health across Aotearoa.”

The Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand has also been named charity partner for the awards. “We are pleased to announce that the Mental Health Foundation is our charity partner for the awards. We’re excited that the awards will be able to support the Mental Health Foundation’s important work to create a more mentally-healthy future for all New Zealanders,” said Pritchard.

Mental Health Foundation CEO Shaun Robinson adds “This stuff matters. All businesses need to prioritise the well-being of workers by implementing mana-enhancing policy. We can’t wait to see the nominations rolling in for the HeadFit Awards and look forward to learning more about the great work that we know is happening in Kiwi workplaces.”

The awards are comprised of 16 categories split into three divisions. They are open to all workplaces and staff across New Zealand, including public and private sector organisations of any type, industry or size. Entries are now open and free. Finalists will be announced in early August, and winners will be announced during Mental Health Awareness Week 2021 at the charity gala dinner and awards ceremony. Tickets to the dinner and ceremony will be available for purchase from the finalist's announcement date. Enter now at

Awards categories
The 16 awards categories are grouped into Individual, Programme and Excellence and Workplace divisions:

Individual Awards

-       Specialist of the Year

-       Employee of the Year

-       Lived Experience Leadership

-       Leader of the Year

-       Legend Award for Lifetime Achievement

Programme and Excellence Awards

-       Best Emerging Programme

-       Best Targeted Programme

-       Neurodiversity & Inclusion Leadership

-       Technology & Innovation Excellence

-       Learning & Development Excellence

-       Engagement & Communication Excellence

Workplace Awards

-       Provider of the Year

-       Small Workplace of the Year

-       Large Workplace of the Year

-       Public Sector Workplace of the Year

-       Supreme Award